Aria Awards 2012 Form Guide

This will be relatively brief as I’m pressed for time and have left this far too late, but if you missed it/are preoccupied with the heat/don’t really care, tonight is one of the most insignificant awards, if not the most, nights of the year; The Arias.

It’s my job to pretend I care so here’s a guide to the nominees in most of the categories, who I would back and who will probably win.

2012 ARIA AWARD NOMINEES

Album of the Year

360 – Falling & Flying (Soulmate/EMI)

Gotye – Making Mirrors (Samples ‘n’ Seconds Records / Eleven: A Music Company/Universal Music Australia)

Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazze (Eleven: A Music Company / Universal Music Australia)

The Jezabels – Prisoner (The Jezabels / MGM)

The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap (Liberation Music)

If you were to try and assemble a group of more ‘meh’ records you’d be hard pushed. The Temper Trap were boring, as were The Jezabels. 360 epitomises everything I despise about Australian hip hop. Leaving us with Missy and Gotye. 

My Pick: Gotye
The Likely Winner: The Temper Trap

Best Male Artist

360 – Falling & Flying (Soulmate / EMI)

Angus Stone – Broken Brights (Capitol / EMI)

Gotye – Making Mirrors (Samples ‘n’ Seconds Records / Eleven: A Music Company/Universal Music Australia)

Guy Sebastian – Battle Scars (Sony Music)

Keith Urban – For You (Capitol / EMI)

Matt Corby – Into The Flame (Mercury / UMA)

See my above comments, there is so much wrong with this batch of nominees. Guy is unlikely to get it, Angus Stone is dull as dish water. See above for my thoughts on 360. Keith is an outside shot on account of his international love.

My Pick: Gotye
The Likely Winner:Gotye/Keith Urban

Best Female Artist

Jessica Mauboy – Gotcha (Sony Music)

Kimbra – Vows (Warner Music Australia)

Lanie Lane – To The Horse (Ivy League Records)

Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazzle (Eleven: A Music Company / Universal Music Australia)

Washington – Insomnia (Mercury / UMA)

The best lineup of nominees yet, it was a good year for Australian pop’s ladies. I’d love to see Kimbra take it though Washington will battle her as will Lanie Lane.

My Pick:KimbraThe Likely Winner: Any of them.

Best Group

Boy & Bear – Big Man (Island/UMA)

Cold Chisel – No Plans (Warner Music Australia)

Hilltop Hoods – Drinking From The Sun (Island/UMA)

The Jezabels – Prisoner (The Jezabels / MGM)

The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap (Liberation Music)

It’s a tough one to pick here, Aria’s are gonna love the Temper Trap, Boy and Bear and the Jezabels on account of their indie triple J cred. I don’t even like Cold Chisel, but they’re the outside chance here.

My Pick: If I have to, Cold Chisel
The Likely Winner:Triple J

Breakthrough Artist – Release

360 – Falling & Flying (Soulmate / EMI)

Alpine – A Is For Alpine (Ivy League Records)

Lanie Lane – To The Horses (Ivy League Records)

Matt Corby – Brother (Mercury / UMA)

San Cisco – Awkward (Island City Records / MGM)

There’s not much I dislike more than the current national indie music scene. It sucks. That being said, Alpine are trying to fight the awfully cliche San Cisco so kudos to them. Matt is aight too.

My Pick: Alpine/Matt Corby
The Likely Winner: San Cisco

Best Independent Release

Dappled Cities – Lake Air (Hub The Label / Inertia)

Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp – Songs of the Southern Skies (Kin Music)

San Cisco – Awkward (Island City Records / MGM)

The Bamboos – Medicine Man (Inertia Recordings)

The Jezabels – Prisoner (The Jezabels / MGM)

The Bamboos are an unrecognised talent within the Australian music scene, their soul and funk stylings rule and deserve more credit. Props to Dappled Cities too.

My Pick: The Bamboos
The Likely Winner: San Cisco/The Jezabels

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Darren Hayes – Secret Codes And Battleships (Mercury / UMA)

Husky – Forever So (Liberation Music)

Josh Pyke – Only Sparrows (Ivy League Records)

Katie Noonan and Karin Schaupp – Songs of the Southern Skies (Kin Music)

Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazzle (Eleven: A Music Company / Universal Music Australia)

Why oh why is Josh Pyke in this category? Why? He rules, Adult Contemporary is reserved for artists or bands who are past their prime. Actually. By the accounts of this year’s nominees it’s a little different this year. Husky are a bit young for this category, Missy still has some oomph in her and so do Katie and Karin. Who’s left? Old made Darren.

My Pick:Josh Pyke (only because he deserves something, I loved that album)
The Likely Winner:Darren Hayes

Best Blues & Roots Album

Angus Stone – Broken Brights (Capitol / EMI)

Jeff Lang – Carried In Mind (ABC Music)

Lanie Lane – To The Horses (Ivy League Records)

Mia Dyson – The Moment (Black Door Records / MGM)

Paul Green & The Other Colours – Behind The Stars (ABC Music)

This will go to Angus Stone, despite Lanie Lane being a better choice.

My Pick:Lanie Lane
The Likely Winner:Angus Stone

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album

Buried In Verona – Notorious (UNFD / Warner)

DZ Deathrays – Bloodstreams (I OH YOU/Illusive Sounds)

Frenzal Rhomb – Smoko at the Pet Food Factory (How much did I fucking pay for this records?)

House Vs Hurricane – Crooked Teeth (UNFD / Warner)

Sleepmakeswaves – …and so we destroyed everything (Birds Robe Records / GREEN)

Tight competition in this category. I’d love DZ to win, but Frenzal could trump them. How about this though, two bands that I interviewed this year both got nominated? There you go. I guess I’m meant to back them up?

My Pick: DZ Deathrays
The Likely Winner:Any of them, Frenzal Rhomb or DZ are most likely.

Best Pop Release

Gotye – Making Mirrors (Samples ‘n’ Seconds Records / Eleven: A Music Company/Universal Music Australia)

Guy Sebastian – Battle Scars (Sony Music)

Jessica Mauboy – Gotcha (Sony Music)

Kimbra – Vows (Warner Music Australia)

San Cisco – Awkward (Island City Records / MGM) 

I’ll cry if San Cisco win. Gotye to win, if not his protoge, Kimbra. Nice try yet again Guy.

My Pick: Gotye
The Likely Winner:San Cisco

Best Rock Album

Children Collide – Monument (UMA)

Cold Chisel – No Plans (Warner Music Australia)

Oh Mercy – Deep Heat (EMI)

The Jezabels – Prisoner (The Jezabels / MGM)

The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap (Liberation Music)

The Temper Trap and The Jezabels aren’t rock fyi, alas Children Collide had a maddog album this year that once again got none of the cred it deserved. Rock needs balls, this triple J crew lack it.

My Pick:Children Collide/Oh Mercy
The Likely Winner: triple J

Best Urban Album

360 – Falling & Flying (Soulmate / EMI)

Hilltop Hoods – Drinking From The Sun (Golden Era/Island/UMA)

Katalyst – Deep Impressions (Invada / Remote Control Records)

The Bamboos – Medicine Man (Inertia Recordings)

The Herd – Future Shade (Elefant Traks / Inertia)

Aussie hip hop eh? I know oh so little bar my disdain for it. I guess if it was me, I didn’t hate that one Herd track I heard? Pun pun pun. Wait why are the Bamboos here?

My Pick:The Herd
The Likely Winner:Hilltop Hoods

Best Country Album

Beccy Cole – Songs and Pictures (Sony Music)

Catherine Britt – Always Never Enough (ABC Music)

McAlister Kemp – Country Proud (ABC Music)

The McClymonts – Two Worlds Collide (UMA)

Troy Cassar-Daley – Home (Liberation Music)

I only know two or three of these groups. I won’t comment for your sake.

My Pick: Do you even care?
The Likely Winner: Didn’t think so.

Best Dance Release

Havana Brown – When The Lights Go Out (Island/UMA)

Hermitude – Hyperparadise (Elefant Traks / Inertia)

Ivan Gough & Feenixpawl feat. Georgi Kay – In My Mind (Neon Records)

Knife Party – Rage Valley (Earstorm / Neon Records / Warner Music Australia)

Sneaky Sound System – From Here To Anywhere (Modular Recordings  

My Pick:Knife Party
The Likely Winner:Knife Party

I’m not gonna touch the categories reliant upon public voting – what with sample issues and all the rest weighing into it. We’ll see how close I am in about an hour’s time!

ps. 100th post! hooray!

2 comments

  1. Beconator · · Reply

    I thought I was the only one who didn’t like The Jezabels album! I was thoroughly disappointed by it- the ep was fantastic…and the album turned out to be dull, boring and completely uninteresting. i’m genuinely suprised at how much glowing praise it has received!

  2. Beconator · · Reply

    also ALL HAIL GOTYE

Leave a Reply

